Rabbit & Robot

The Sleepover

Bell, Cece

Book - 2012
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Rabbit & Robot
Print
Rabbit is excited about the sleepover he has carefully planned for his friend Robot, but Robot has some different ideas about how things should go.

Publisher: Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2012
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780763654757
0763654752
Branch Call Number: J YR FIC B
Characteristics: 50 p. : col. ill. ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From Library Staff

Rabbit’s carefully organized sleepover goes awry thanks to his fun-loving mechanical pal. A treat for emergent readers.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

May 10, 2013
  • dundurncook rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

So many books at this level (kids bridging from picture books to chapter books, aged 5-8) are uninteresting or babyish. But this book is funny and engaging and filled with great illustrations. Great as a read-aloud too especially if you have a good robot voice.

Nov 28, 2012

Rabbit has invited his friend Robot to sleep over, and he's made a list of everything he and his buddy will do together. But right away, Robot wants to make some changes - he'd rather play Old Maid instead of Go Fish, and he's not at all fond of carrots, lettuce, and snow peas as pizza toppings (he prefers nuts and bolts). But in this droll odd-couple story full of visual humour, the two friends are able to compromise and save their fun. With a slightly off-the-wall sensibility and illustrations that Publishers Weekly describes as crisp and cheery, this easy reader is a good pick for fans of Mo Willems' Elephant and Piggie books.

Picture books November 2012 newsletter http://www.nextreads.com/Display2.aspx?SID=5acc8fc1-4e91-4ebe-906d-f8fc5e82a8e0&N=574049

Nov 13, 2012
  • ELIZABETH RAMSEY BIRD rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

The world needs more books like this here Rabbit and Robot. Here you have that rarest of rare beasts, the early early chapter book. Harder than Frog and Toad, easier than Magic Tree House, it's a transitional title that's the perfect thing to get kids out of their reading ruts and into the wide and wonderful world of chapters. Lots of books attempt to do that sort of thing, but it takes a delicate hand like Cece Bell's to also pepper the book with memorable, hilarious characters and a simultaneously familiar and unique plotline. This is only the first in the adventures of uptight Rabbit and groovy go-with-the-flow Robot, but I trust we'll see more of them in the future. The world demands more of the same, consarn it!

Age

Add Age Suitability

Nov 13, 2012
  • ELIZABETH RAMSEY BIRD rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

ELIZABETH RAMSEY BIRD thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 5 and 8

Summary

Add a Summary

Nov 13, 2012
  • ELIZABETH RAMSEY BIRD rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Good buddies Rabbit and Robot (just go with it) are about to have their first sleepover at Rabbit's place and both of them are very excited. Rabbit, a by-the-book kind of guy, has every evening activity written out and planned to the letter. And Robot, an easygoing fellow bearing a vague resemblance to a cell phone on wheels, is just the kind of stand up friend to throw a distinct wrench in the works. First Rabbit's plan to "Make Pizza" is changed slightly when Robot removes the bulk of the home's nuts and bolts to top his own pizza pie. Then Rabbit can't find the remote and a near nervous breakdown occurs before Robot reveals the simple solution. A game of Go Fish takes a header when something odd happens to Robot. And finally, bedtime is the perfect moment to review and see that even if everything didn't go precisely to plan, it was still a really nice day.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

No similar edition of this title was found at NYPL.

Try searching for Rabbit & Robot to see if NYPL owns related versions of the work.


Suggest for Purchase

  Loading...

Buy It Now

Support your library, keep it forever!

View Purchase Options Learn more about this program

Your Cart

Hello! We noticed you have the following items in your cart right now:

If you'd still like to purchase the items you have in your cart, you can do that now.

You'll be able to purchase your eBook after you have checked out your current cart.

Rabbit & Robot
Bell, Cece
Rabbit & Robot

To continue with your eBook purchase immediately, you can clear your cart by clicking below.

All items will be removed from your cart.


I'd like to keep browsing! I'll decide later.

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings


Recommendations

  Loading...
[]
[]