[]
[]

The Book of Why

A Novel
Montemarano, Nicholas, 1970- (Book - 2013 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
The Book of Why
Print

Item Details

Grand Central Pub
"This is a haunting and extraordinary book." -- Julie Orringer, author of The Invisible Bridge

Self-help writer Eric Newborn's motivational books have spawned a legion of devoted followers who swear that his ideas have pulled their lives from the brink. But after Eric can't save his own wife from dying, he finds himself at a loss -- the power of positive thinking is simply not enough to overcome his grief. Retreating to the home he and his wife shared on Martha's Vineyard, Eric, with his dog as his closest companion, attempts to distance himself from the teachings he has come to hate.

But when a woman named Sam shows up at his door one night five years later, Eric must finally confront his heartache and reconcile his worldview with the pain he has suffered.

At once a powerful love story, a stirring portrait of a soul laid bare by grief, and a celebration of coincidence, connection, and the belief that true love never dies, The Book of Why explores the deep powers of the heart and mind to shape the world around us, blurring the lines between loss and love, fate and free will, despair and joy.

Baker & Taylor
A motivational speaker and author who turns into a recluse after the loss of his wife is brought out of his depression with a fan's help, in this new novel from the author of If the Sky Falls. 15,000 first printing.

Hachette Book Group
A deeply moving story about a self-help author confronting life's ultimate question: can love survive anything? Even death?

A novel about an unforgettable love, THE BOOK OF WHY asks big questions: Is there meaning in signs? Do coincidences matter? Does love ever really have to die?

The answers to these questions are within you-at least that's what writer Eric Newborn said in his mega-bestselling books and speeches. But the loss of his wife has left Eric with a failed belief system. In the wake of that trauma, Eric has become a recluse in his home on Martha's Vineyard.

A fan who tracks Eric down brings him back to memories of his wife, leading him closer to her than he'd dreamed he could ever get again. With a breathtaking twist at its end, THE BOOK OF WHY is a perfect, unforgettable love story in the tradition of Nicholas Sparks and Julie Orringer.

Baker
& Taylor

A motivational speaker and self-help author who turns into a recluse after the loss of his wife is brought out of his depression with a fan's help.

Authors: Montemarano, Nicholas, 1970-
Statement of Responsibility: Nicholas Montemarano
Title: The book of why
a novel
Publisher: New York : Little, Brown, 2013
Edition: 1st ed
Characteristics: 302 p. ; 25 cm.
Subject Headings: Motivational speakers Fiction Martha's Vineyard (Mass.) Fiction
Genre/Form: Psychological fiction
Topical Term: Motivational speakers
LCCN: 2011046896
ISBN: 9780316188470
0316188476
Branch Call Number: FIC M
Research Call Number: JFE 13-1913
MARC Display»

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Dec 11, 2013
  • modestgoddess rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Very well done comment on Secret-style self-help books. Nice story, full of plenty to think about. Kinda light on plot, but much to enjoy here. Some books say Read me!

Jul 22, 2013
  • ms_mustard rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

I loved this book - a great antidote to 'the law of attraction' and the you-can-get-the-life-you-deserve kind of thinking.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at NYPL

  Loading...

Other Formats

Buy It Now

Support your library, keep it forever!

View Purchase Options Learn more about this program

Your Cart

Hello! We noticed you have the following items in your cart right now:

If you'd still like to purchase the items you have in your cart, you can do that now.

You'll be able to purchase your eBook after you have checked out your current cart.

To continue with your eBook purchase immediately, you can clear your cart by clicking below.

All items will be removed from your cart.


I'd like to keep browsing! I'll decide later.

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings


Recommendations

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version pocillo (pocillo) Last updated 2014/08/26 17:01