[]
[]

The Scientists

A Family Romance
Roth, Marco, 1974- (Book - 2012 )
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
The Scientists
Print

Item Details

Baker & Taylor
Tells the story of the author's family and how they dealt with his father's suffering and death from AIDS.

McMillan Palgrave
A frank, intelligent, and deeply moving debut memoir

With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician—from the time he could get his toddler tongue to a pronounce a word like “De-oxy ribonucleic acid,” or recite a French poem—Marco Roth was able to share his parents’ New York, a world centered around house concerts, a private library of literary classics, and dinner discussions of the latest advances in medicine. That world ended when his father started to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus that had infected him in the early 1980s.

What this family could not talk about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving members, often in unexpected ways. The Scientists is a story of how we first learn from our parents and how we then learn to see them as separate individuals; it’s a story of how precociousness can slow us down when it comes to knowing about our desires and other people’s. A memoir of parents and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams, and J.R. Ackerley, The Scientists grapples with a troubled intellectual and emotional inheritance, in a style that is both elegiac and defiant.



Book News
A young writer reflects on growing up in the 1980s and 1990s as the son of a physician/scientist and a classical musician in the Jewish-American intellectual milieu of Manhattan's Upper West Side. Roth's memoir pivots around uncovering the truth surrounding his father's death from AIDS, and his range of reactions to this family secret. He philosophically concludes: "In what ways were most of us not the children of denial?" Annotation ©2012 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Authors: Roth, Marco, 1974-
Statement of Responsibility: Marco Roth
Title: The scientists
a family romance
Publisher: New York : Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 2012
Edition: 1st ed
Characteristics: 196 p. ; 22 cm.
Subject Headings: Fathers and sons Bereavement Bisexuality AIDS (Disease) Patients Family relationships New York (State) New York Roth, Marco, 1974- Family
Topical Term: Fathers and sons
Bereavement
Bisexuality
AIDS (Disease)
LCCN: 2011051264
ISBN: 0374210284
9780374210281
Branch Call Number: B Roth R
MARC Display»

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Mar 03, 2013
  • Pigeona rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

A beautiful haunting book.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at NYPL

  Loading...

Other Formats

Buy It Now

Support your library, keep it forever!

View Purchase Options Learn more about this program

Your Cart

Hello! We noticed you have the following items in your cart right now:

If you'd still like to purchase the items you have in your cart, you can do that now.

You'll be able to purchase your eBook after you have checked out your current cart.

The Scientists
Roth, Marco, 1974-
The Scientists

To continue with your eBook purchase immediately, you can clear your cart by clicking below.

All items will be removed from your cart.


I'd like to keep browsing! I'll decide later.

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings


Recommendations

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version pocillo (pocillo) Last updated 2014/08/26 17:01