[]
[]

All My Life

A Memoir
Lucci, Susan (eBook - 2011 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
All My Life
Print

Item Details

Baker & Taylor
The four-decade star of "All My Children" offers behind-the-scenes stories from the show and discusses the joys and heartaches of her life.

HARPERCOLL

"See that moon up there?
You can reach that high.
Never be afraid because you can be anything you want to be."

Susan Lucci was only five years old when her father shared these encouraging words with her. They inspired the highly imaginative child who loved make-believe to craft one of the most enduring characters in television history, an achievement that would earn her a record twenty-one Emmy nominations?the most for an actor in the award's history?and the crown as "Leading Lady of Daytime."

When Lucci and All My Children were introduced to the world in 1971, American television changed forever. Susan's character, the beautiful, spirited, and mercurial Erica Kane, was an original?the first vixen viewers loved to hate. But while millions have enjoyed getting to know Erica's many sides?and have been awed at how this character has continually remade herself?the woman who plays her has remained a mystery.

In her long-awaited memoir, this very private actress, wife, mother, daughter, grandmother, sister, friend, and entrepreneur pulls back the curtain to reveal her story.

Susan, like Erica Kane, has undergone a metamorphosis many times. All My Life shares the stories of those transformations: starring in roles on television and stage, where she took Broadway not just by storm but "by tsunami" as one critic raved about her performance in Annie Get Your Gun; mounting successful cabaret acts (solo and with Regis Philbin); bringing art and joy back to New York in the wake of 9/11; conquering the tango with Tony Dovolani on ABC's hit show Dancing with the Stars; and building a successful career as an entrepreneur with a signature line of products.

Susan goes beyond her success to talk about the darker moments, too, including the childhood guilt she harbored over the death of her dear grandmother, the car accident that nearly took away her career and her eyesight, her newborn son's life-threatening illness, coping with her husband's cancer, and the pain of miscarriage?one of the many parallels between her Erica Kane.

As charming, down-to-earth, and compelling as the woman whose story it tells, All My Life shines a spotlight on one of our most popular stars and reminds us of the power of dreams and how we can find the courage and tenacity to make them come true.


"See that moon up there?
You can reach that high.
Never be afraid because you can be anything you want to be."

Susan Lucci was only five years old when her father shared these encouraging words with her. They inspired the highly imaginative child who loved make-believe to craft one of the most enduring characters in television history, an achievement that would earn her a record twenty-one Emmy nominations?the most for an actor in the award's history?and the crown as "Leading Lady of Daytime."

When Lucci and All My Children were introduced to the world in 1971, American television changed forever. Susan's character, the beautiful, spirited, and mercurial Erica Kane, was an original?the first vixen viewers loved to hate. But while millions have enjoyed getting to know Erica's many sides?and have been awed at how this character has continually remade herself?the woman who plays her has remained a mystery.

In her long-awaited memoir, this very private actress, wife, mother, daughter, grandmother, sister, friend, and entrepreneur pulls back the curtain to reveal her story.

Susan, like Erica Kane, has undergone a metamorphosis many times. All My Life shares the stories of those transformations: starring in roles on television and stage, where she took Broadway not just by storm but "by tsunami" as one critic raved about her performance in Annie Get Your Gun; mounting successful cabaret acts (solo and with Regis Philbin); bringing art and joy back to New York in the wake of 9/11; conquering the tango with Tony Dovolani on ABC's hit show Dancing with the Stars; and building a successful career as an entrepreneur with a signature line of products.

Susan goes beyond her success to talk about the darker moments, too, including the childhood guilt she harbored over the death of her dear grandmother, the car accident that nearly took away her career and her eyesight, her newborn son's life-threatening illness, coping with her husband's cancer, and the pain of miscarriage?one of the many parallels between her Erica Kane.

As charming, down-to-earth, and compelling as the woman whose story it tells, All My Life shines a spotlight on one of our most popular stars and reminds us of the power of dreams and how we can find the courage and tenacity to make them come true.


The most famous face in daytime drama history, Susan Lucci has held audiences spellbound for years as Erica Kane on ABC-TV’s All My Children—the sexy, sassy, beautiful “woman you love to hate.” Now, in this long awaited autobiography, she holds readers captive as the feisty, funny, authentic “woman you love to love.” In the tradition of Julie Andrews’ Home, Jane Fonda’s My Life So Far, Barbara Walters’ Audition, and other enthralling autobiographies from female icons of our time, the award-winning soap opera star’s memoir of a life in the spotlight is sure to inspire, uplift, charm and surprise readers as they finally get to know the Susan Lucci her friends, family and colleagues love and know.



Baker
& Taylor

The four-decade star of All My Children offers behind-the-scenes stories from the show and discusses the joys and heartaches of her life. 500,000 first printing.

Authors: Lucci, Susan
Statement of Responsibility: Susan Lucci with Laura Morton
Title: All my life
a memoir
[electronic resource]
Publisher: [S.l.] : HarperCollins e-books, 2011
Characteristics: 1 online resource : ill. (some col.).
Contents: Born to perform
Marymount College
You're too ethnic looking
Hello, New York
The early days of All my children
Being Erica Kane
Blended lives
From All my children to all of my children
Annie get your gun
Life is a cabaret
The cycle of life
Celebrations
That elusive Emmy
The inner sanctum
Dancing with the stars
Africa
Good bye, New York
Looking back to go forward
Subject Headings: Lucci, Susan Actors United States Biography
Genre/Form: Electronic books
Topical Term: Actors
Additional Contributors: Morton, Laura - 1964-
OverDrive, Inc
ISBN: 9780062061867
0062061860
Branch Call Number: eNYPL Book
MARC Display»

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at NYPL

  Loading...

Other Formats

Your Cart

Hello! We noticed you have the following items in your cart right now:

If you'd still like to purchase the items you have in your cart, you can do that now.

You'll be able to purchase your eBook after you have checked out your current cart.

All My Life
Lucci, Susan
All My Life

To continue with your eBook purchase immediately, you can clear your cart by clicking below.

All items will be removed from your cart.


I'd like to keep browsing! I'll decide later.

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Browse the shelf is not available for this title.


Subject Headings


Recommendations

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version pocillo (pocillo) Last updated 2014/08/29 09:56