[]
[]

The Goddess Test

Carter, Aimée

(Paperback - 2011)
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
The Goddess Test
Print
Eden, Michigan, high school student Kate Winters strikes a bargain with Henry, Greek god of the underworld, if he'll cure her dying mother of cancer. The bargain she strikes with him is a grim one, but the full enormity of what she has undertaken--"live forever or die trying"--is not revealed until it's too late to recant.
Publisher: New York : Harlequin Teen, 2011
ISBN: 9780373210268
0373210264
Branch Call Number: FIC C
Characteristics: 293 p. ; 21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jun 22, 2014
  • Truffles125 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I love this book. I love the idea of how a girl can go from normal to a greek god.

Jun 11, 2014
  • nessmr89 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

She is losing everything but here comes a boy to give her a chance to keep it all... is he dangerous or good for her? Will she make a deal with the devil and save a snotty girl she barely knows? Or will she turn and run? This book is amazing!

Feb 18, 2014
  • Nymeria23 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I really liked this book. It seemed to me more realistic in the way the main character reacted. I would say the only thing that I didn't like was that it was a little predictable (maybe because I accidentally found the little character guide at the end of the book before I started reading. Warning; that is a spoiler).I wonder what's going to happen in the next book, though. I can't wait.

Aug 07, 2013
  • artemishi rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I loved this book. As YA goes, it's fun and relatively par-for-the-course. However, where it truly shines is in surprises and mythology. I'm a fan of Greek mythology, and constantly disappointed with modern Greek myth takes. Most especially because they tend to Christianize the stories, de-empowering the goddesses and making Hades a Satanic figure. Which is, of course, asanine.

So I was greatly relieved, and excited, for The Goddess Test. This story was much more authentic to Greek mythology, and even I had a difficult time guessing who was who. I can't wait to pick up the next story, and I'm excited to learn more about the characters and the world. And Henry. :)

I recommend this for fans of YA, Greek mythology, coming-of-age, fantasy, and stories that feature strong female characters.

Jun 30, 2013
  • em4225 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

This was the best book out of the series which is sad because it is the first. This series had the potential to be awesome but it is almost as though the author got tired of it at the end of the second and just threw the third together. It is a decent series but not one I would love to read again.

Jun 18, 2013
  • kitten97 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This was a great book involving greek mythology in modern day. It was intriguing, exciting, and well written. It kept me reading until I finished. I recommend it for anyone who enjoys a mix of greek mythology and romance but also some action and mystery.

Jun 06, 2013

yes kokokoala, this is the first book. My friend is introducing me to the series and now I'm trying it.(ps. my friend is dying because of the new book not being able to come out for a wile :P)

Mar 18, 2013
  • kokokoala rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

is this the first book? i've been wanting to read this series but i don't know which one to start with!

Dec 23, 2012

such a great series, please read all of the books because i couldn't put them down they are that good! Can't wait till february 2013 for the next book after the goddess legacy.

Aug 17, 2012
  • lokiboo262 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

strange at first but it is a good read

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

May 03, 2012
  • IreneReads rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

IreneReads thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Apr 22, 2012
  • GBear101 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

GBear101 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 11 and 19

Jan 03, 2012
  • Blue_Swan_40 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Blue_Swan_40 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

Oct 09, 2011
  • BookFaerie27 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

BookFaerie27 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

Sep 16, 2012

When Henry--a mysterious boy who claims to be Hades, god of the underworld--makes a deal with Kate to help save her mother's life, Kate must pass seven tests and become Henry's immortal lover, or die trying.

Jun 17, 2011

It's always been just Kate and her mom—and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate's going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear her mother won't live past the fall.
Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld—and if she accepts his bargain, he'll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he's crazy—until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she'll become Henry's future bride, and a goddess.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Find it at NYPL

  Loading...

Other Formats

Buy It Now

Support your library, keep it forever!

View Purchase Options Learn more about this program

Your Cart

Hello! We noticed you have the following items in your cart right now:

If you'd still like to purchase the items you have in your cart, you can do that now.

You'll be able to purchase your eBook after you have checked out your current cart.

The Goddess Test
Carter, Aimée
The Goddess Test

To continue with your eBook purchase immediately, you can clear your cart by clicking below.

All items will be removed from your cart.


I'd like to keep browsing! I'll decide later.

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings


Recommendations

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app03 Version nodvandig Last updated 2015/03/03 19:57