[]
[]

Pinocchio, Vampire Slayer

Jensen, Van (Book - 2009)
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
Pinocchio, Vampire Slayer
 Add a Comment  Add Tags

Print

Item Details

Diamond Comics Distributors
After seeing Geppetto die at the hands of vampires, Pinocchio swears revenge in this darkly funny graphic novel. As the vampires plot the enslavement of mankind, only a one-puppet army stands in their way. But will a wooden boy and his endless supply of stakes - courtesy of plenty of lies and his elongating nose - be enough to save the day?

Baker & Taylor
After his creator and father Geppetto is killed by vampires, the magically animated puppet Pinocchio sets out to protect the local villagers with the help of woodcarver Master Cherry, an old Blue Fairy, and the ghost of a squashed cricket.

Baker
& Taylor

Pinoccho seeking to avenge the death of Geppetto goes after the vampires that have infested Nasolungo.

Authors: Jensen, Van
Statement of Responsibility: written by Van Jensen ; created and drawn by Dusty Higgins
Title: Pinocchio, vampire slayer
Publisher: San Jose, CA : SLG Pub., 2009
Characteristics: 1 v. (unpaged) : chiefly ill. ; 22 cm.
Subject Headings: Horror comic books, strips, etc. United States Comic books, strips, etc. United States
Genre/Form: Graphic novels
Topical Term: Horror comic books, strips, etc
Comic books, strips, etc
Additional Contributors: Higgins, Dustin
ISBN: 9781593621766
1593621760
Branch Call Number: GRAPHIC GN FIC J
Research Call Number: 9-NAZ 10-2538
MARC Display»

Opinion

From Library Staff

Pinnocchio - Vampire Slayer. No vampire hunting stakes needed - he impales them with his wooden nose.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

This graphic novel was very well done. Very funny, without being over the top. There isn't much of your classic Disney wooden puppet here! The brief description of the real story of Pinocchio at the start is very cute and funny

Feb 21, 2011
  • ami_angelwings rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Great and fun comic :) I thought it was gonna be over-the-top dark or deliberately have ppl swearing all over the place just to have it be superficially "adult" but it was not that at all :) It may be a darker, stranger Pinocchio world than we're used to (not like the original was all light and fun either xD), but I thought the portrayals of the characters were very spot on and complex, esp Pinocchio who in this book is a hero in the vein of Spider-Man or Batman: a child who b/c of tragedy is forced to grow up very quickly and take responsibility. :) It's a fun comic, but more importantly it's a well written one and I rly enjoyed it :)

Jul 31, 2010
  • quagga rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

I didn't expect to enjoy a monster mash-up so very much. Geppetto has been killed by vampires and Pinocchio is out for revenge. He tells a lie and then snaps off his nose. This provides a handy and effective wooden stake that turns the vampires of Nasolungo to dust.

Dusty Higgins' strong black and white art (and Pinocchio's line "I kill monsters") reminded me of Niimura's work in I Kill Giants. There is also a woodcut sort of style to the imagery that evokes the setting and the classic original story. Patterned scarves worn by the villagers and vampires are a nice visual touch. Van Jensen's retelling - post-telling, actually - is sly, inventive and thoroughly entertaining. Grade 6 - adult.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at NYPL

  Loading...

Buy It Now

Support your library, keep it forever!

View Purchase Options Learn more about this program

Your Cart

Hello! We noticed you have the following items in your cart right now:

If you'd still like to purchase the items you have in your cart, you can do that now.

You'll be able to purchase your eBook after you have checked out your current cart.

Pinocchio, Vampire Slayer
Jensen, Van
Pinocchio, Vampire Slayer

To continue with your eBook purchase immediately, you can clear your cart by clicking below.

All items will be removed from your cart.


I'd like to keep browsing! I'll decide later.

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings


Recommendations

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app11 Version draggan_fix Last updated 2014/11/20 11:49