Symphony in C

(Film - 1951?)
Symphony in C
 Add a Comment  Add Tags


Item Details

Statement of Responsibility: choreography, [George] Balanchine ; music by [Georges] Bizet ; performed by New York City Ballet
Title: Symphony in C
[electronic resource]
Publisher: [1951?]
Country of Producing Entity: U.S
Characteristics: 1 streaming video (NTSC) (96 min.) : si., b&w
Content Type: two-dimensional moving image
Media Type: computer
Carrier Type: online resource
Notes: Credits partially from book entitled, Without permission by Victor Jessen ; additional credits from the Dance Division's *MGZB New York City Ballet program (Apr. 28, 1951)
Complete work; sometimes brief segments overlap with repeated sections from different camera location
Some cast members change during different performances; for example, Melissa Hayden's role in the first movement is sometimes performed by Nora Kaye and Francisco Moncion's role in the second movement is sometimes performed by Michael Maule
Contents: Fourth movement: Allegro vivace (ca. 32 min.) / dancers, Patricia Wilde and Frank Hobi/Todd Bolender with members of the New York City Ballet
Third movement: Allegro vivace (ca. 18 min.) / dancers, Janet Reed/Nora Kaye and Herbert Bliss/Jaques d'Amboise with members of the New York City Ballet
Second movement: Adagio (ca. 23 min.) / dancers, Tanaquil LeClercq and Francisco Moncion/Michael Maule with members of the New York City Ballet
First movement: Allegro vivo (ca. 20 min.) / dancers, Melissa Hayden/Nora Kaye and Nicholas Magallanes with members of the New York City Ballet
Restrictions on Access: Patrons can access streaming video file online only on site at the Library for the Performing Arts
Credits: Filmmaker, Victor Jessen.
Event: Some segments filmed during multiple performances possibly at the Opera House, Chicago, Ill., in Apr. 1951
Funding Information: Transferred from film and cataloged with funds provided by the Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation
System Details: Streaming video, transferred from 16mm reversal print via Digital Betacam cassettes
Biography: This film was pieced together by the filmmaker Victor Jessen from multiple performances filmed from various camera angles throughout several theaters
Local Note: *MGZHB 8-1963, additional copy; 16mm (3 reels, 2333 ft.). This print is stored for preservation. Use *MGZIDF 1710 instead
Former call number: *MGZIDVD 5-5236
Genre/Form: Video
Research Call Number: *MGZIDF 1710
MARC Display»


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.


Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at NYPL


Your Cart

Hello! We noticed you have the following items in your cart right now:

If you'd still like to purchase the items you have in your cart, you can do that now.

You'll be able to purchase your eBook after you have checked out your current cart.

Symphony in C
Symphony in C

To continue with your eBook purchase immediately, you can clear your cart by clicking below.

All items will be removed from your cart.

I'd like to keep browsing! I'll decide later.

Explore Further

Browse the Shelf

Browse the shelf is not available for this title.

Subject Headings



Powered by BiblioCommons.
app04 Version draggan_fix Last updated 2014/11/20 11:49