[]
[]

Once Upon A Tart

Soups, Salads, Muffins, and More From New York City's Favorite Bakeshop and Café

Mentesana, Frank

(Book - 2003)
Average Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.
Once Upon A Tart
 Add a Comment  Add Tags
Print
Random House, Inc.
A cookbook in the tradition of The Silver Palate and The Barefoot Contessa . . .

In New York City, famous for its food and restaurants, locals are reverential about the bakeshop and café Once Upon a Tart. For more than a decade, they have been lining up at the store mornings and afternoons, waiting patiently for their signature scones, muffins, soups, salads, sandwiches, cookies, and—of course—tarts. And pretty much since the day the café opened, patrons have been asking—sometimes begging—the proprietors for their sweet and savory recipes. Good news: the wait is over.

In Once Upon a Tart, the café’s founders and co-owners, Jerome Audureau (a New Yorker via France) and Frank Mentesana (a New Yorker via New Jersey), go public with their culinary secrets (“We don’t have any,” says Frank. “That’s our biggest secret of all”) and recipes. They also tell their inspiring success story, from selling tarts wholesale out of a warehouse in Long Island City to opening their now-famous outpost in Soho.

In nine delicious chapters ranging from savory tarts to cookies, the authors instruct and advise home cooks on everything from how to make the flakiest tart crust (“keep the dough cold”) to making sandwiches (“condiments are key”) to how to diet (“you want half the calories, eat half the scone”). Once Upon a Tart is packed with more than 225 easy-to-prepare recipes, including all the store classics that have earned Frank and Jerome the devotion of their customers: Caramelized-Leek-and-Celery Tart, Creamy Carrot Soup with Fresh Dill, Pork Loin Sandwich with Frisée and Rosemary-Garlic Aioli, Buttermilk Scones with Dried Currants, Banana–Poppy Seed Muffins, and Strawberry-Rhubarb Tart with Crisp Topping.

Says Frank, “We believe that deep down, everyone is a cook.” Adds Jerome, “And that a little butter in your life is a good thing.”

Baker & Taylor
The co-founders of the Long Island City warehouse bakery share culinary wisdom, technical tips, and recipes for such fare as Chickpea-Tomato with Fresh Rosemary soup, Pear-Ginger-Raisin muffins, Spiced Pumpkin with Fresh Cranberries scones, Very Ginger cookies, and an array of signature tarts. 35,000 first printing.

Baker
& Taylor

The co-founders of the Long Island City warehouse bakery share culinary wisdom, technical tips, and recipes for such fare as pear-ginger raisin muffins, classic basil pesto, and an array of signature tarts.

Publisher: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, c2003
ISBN: 0375413162
Branch Call Number: 641.8 M
Characteristics: xxii, 360 p. : col. ill. ; 21 x 25 cm.
Additional Contributors: Carreño, Carolynn
Audureau, Jerome

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Apr 01, 2011
  • TheSponge rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I have worked my way through this entire cookbook over the years. The recipes are all first-rate. With easy to follow instructions, colorful step by step photos, funny anecdotes and helpful tips/ hints you can’t go wrong! Highly, highly recommended!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at NYPL

  Loading...

Buy It Now

Support your library, keep it forever!

View Purchase Options Learn more about this program

Your Cart

Hello! We noticed you have the following items in your cart right now:

If you'd still like to purchase the items you have in your cart, you can do that now.

You'll be able to purchase your eBook after you have checked out your current cart.

Once Upon A Tart
Mentesana, Frank
Once Upon A Tart

To continue with your eBook purchase immediately, you can clear your cart by clicking below.

All items will be removed from your cart.


I'd like to keep browsing! I'll decide later.

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings


Recommendations

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app16 Version eventuell-fix Last updated 2014/11/21 12:58