Dear Library Patrons, The mission of NYPL is to inspire lifelong learning, advance knowledge, and strengthen our communities. Government support only pays for a portion of our work, so we rely on you to help - from stocking our shelves with amazing books, expanding our e-Book selection, classes, events, or even making free WiFi accessible to all. We are trying to raise $500,000 by December 31: an ambitious goal, but one that will fund incredible learning and reading in our community. Please consider donating to help keep our services free to all New Yorkers in 2015 >>

[]
[]

Lost in A Good Book

A Novel

Fforde, Jasper

(eBook - 2003)
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Lost in A Good Book
Print
Penguin Putnam
The second installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England


The inventive, exuberant, and totally original literary fun that began with The Eyre Affair continues with New York Times bestselling author Jasper Fforde’s magnificent second adventure starring the resourceful, fearless literary sleuth Thursday Next. When Landen, the love of her life, is eradicated by the corrupt multinational Goliath Corporation, Thursday must moonlight as a Prose Resource Operative of Jurisfiction—the police force inside the BookWorld. She is apprenticed to the man-hating Miss Havisham from Dickens’s Great Expectations, who grudgingly shows Thursday the ropes. And she gains just enough skill to get herself in a real mess entering the pages of Poe’s “The Raven.” What she really wants is to get Landen back. But this latest mission is not without further complications. Along with jumping into the works of Kafka and Austen, and even Beatrix Potter’s The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies, Thursday finds herself the target of a series of potentially lethal coincidences, the authenticator of a newly discovered play by the Bard himself, and the only one who can prevent an unidentifiable pink sludge from engulfing all life on Earth. It’s another genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment for fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with The Well of Lost Plots. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde’s latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!



The second installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England


The inventive, exuberant, and totally original literary fun that began with The Eyre Affair continues with New York Times bestselling author Jasper Fforde’s magnificent second adventure starring the resourceful, fearless literary sleuth Thursday Next. When Landen, the love of her life, is eradicated by the corrupt multinational Goliath Corporation, Thursday must moonlight as a Prose Resource Operative of Jurisfiction—the police force inside the BookWorld. She is apprenticed to the man-hating Miss Havisham from Dickens’s Great Expectations, who grudgingly shows Thursday the ropes. And she gains just enough skill to get herself in a real mess entering the pages of Poe’s “The Raven.” What she really wants is to get Landen back. But this latest mission is not without further complications. Along with jumping into the works of Kafka and Austen, and even Beatrix Potter’s The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies, Thursday finds herself the target of a series of potentially lethal coincidences, the authenticator of a newly discovered play by the Bard himself, and the only one who can prevent an unidentifiable pink sludge from engulfing all life on Earth. It’s another genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment for fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with The Well of Lost Plots. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde’s latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!



Baker & Taylor
In order to rescue the love of her life from the corrupt multinational Goliath, Thursday seeks out a believed-vanquished enemy from the pages of "The Raven" and finds unexpected assistance from Miss Havisham of "Great Expectations."

Baker
& Taylor

In order to rescue the love of her life from the corrupt multinational Goliath, Thursday seeks out a believed-vanquished enemy from the pages of The Raven and finds unexpected assistance from Great Expectation's Miss Havisham.
In order to rescue the love of her life from the corrupt multinational Goliath, Thursday seeks out a believed-vanquished enemy from the pages of The Raven and finds unexpected assistance from Great Expectation's Miss Havisham. Reader's Guide available. Reprint. 150,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Viking, 2003
ISBN: 9781101158111
Branch Call Number: eNYPL Book
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: 3M Cloud Library
3M Company

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jun 01, 2013
  • TheIronPaw rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

A mix of thriller, fantasy, sci-fi in a crime/mystery plot with a healthy dose of humour and just plain silly - this 2nd book in the Thursday Next series is even better than the first one. The quirks of our lead character are extended from the first novel; and several new characters are introduced including the Cheshire Cat and other literary figures. Well worth reading for those who enjoy Terry Pratchett or Douglas Adams or even anyone interested in classical literature. If you're not familiar with "Great Expectations" and probably Poe's "The Raven", I'd suggest checking out Cole's notes (i.e. Wikipedia).

Mar 28, 2013
  • bwortman rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Liking these books is a no-brainer for me. Weird alternative reality, plenty of literary references, time travel, and quirky characters make them a delight from start to finish. I will definitely be picking up the next book in this series much sooner than I got around to this one.

Dec 17, 2012
  • LazyNeko rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Not as cohesive as Eyre Affair. All setup with almost no payoff. It essentially ends with a "to be continued..." Still zany and fun, but the number of words made up by the author has increased alarmingly-- and we all know that this can lead to a decrease in the probability that the book is good. (See xkcd chart.)

Dec 02, 2011
  • tocch101 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Great read, but a sad ending. Glad that there is another book in the series.

Nov 05, 2011
  • Ubalstecha rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Thursday Next is back, but Landon is not. He has been eradicated by Goliath in an attempt to blackmail Thursday into retrieving Jack Schitt. Meanwhile, Thursday's father has warned her that the world is going to end, leaving behind nothing but pink goo. Finally, Thursday is recruited by Jurisfiction where she learns to jump into books under the tutelage of Miss Havisham. Yes, that Miss Havisham.

Not as fun as the first book, but still a lot of fun. Ending is a little unfulfilling, but since there is a sequel, hopefully the hanging bits are resolved.

Sep 30, 2011
  • LT rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Not quite as brilliantly mind-blowing as The Eyre Affair, but still very heady stuff. Write on, Jasper Fforde!

This is in fact the SECOND book in the Thursday next series. The first is the Eyre Affair

Reading this, the first of Jasper Fforde's books, was the first time I've been surprised, delighted and amazed by a novelists imagination in a LONG time.

Jun 10, 2004
  • KarenW rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Every reader knows the wonderful feeling of being lost in a good book. You never want it to end. Well, this book is about really being lost in a good book! Thursday Next, a young special agent with the government already knows how to jump into a story and mingle with the characters. But when her husband has been eradicated so that only she remembers him as a grown man, she jumps into action by going into Great Expectations and apprenticing herself to Miss Haversham. Yes, THAT Miss Haversham! And this is when it gets really interesting. Soon she is trying to save the world with her time travelling father, running through a casualty ridden book sale, and jumping in and out of classic books. For instance her turn in the Kafka court will leave the reader in stitches. And every character has the perfect name! Not only a rollicking good read, but the funniest book I have read in ages. This is the second book in the series.

Quotes

Add a Quote

Dec 17, 2012
  • LazyNeko rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

"Things," Dad used to say, "are a whole lot weirder than we can know."

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

NYPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...

Other Formats

Your Cart

Hello! We noticed you have the following items in your cart right now:

If you'd still like to purchase the items you have in your cart, you can do that now.

You'll be able to purchase your eBook after you have checked out your current cart.

Lost in A Good Book
Fforde, Jasper
Lost in A Good Book

To continue with your eBook purchase immediately, you can clear your cart by clicking below.

All items will be removed from your cart.


I'd like to keep browsing! I'll decide later.

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Browse the shelf is not available for this title.


Subject Headings


Recommendations

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app11 Version gurli Last updated 2014/12/09 10:52