[]
[]

Codex

Grossman, Lev (Book - 2004 )
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
Codex
Print

Item Details

Houghton
About to depart on his first vacation in years, Edward Wozny, a hot-shot young investment banker, is sent to help one of his firm's most important and mysterious clients. When asked to uncrate and organize a personal library of rare books, Edward's indignation turns to intrigue as he realizes that there may be a unique medieval codex hidden among the volumes, a treasure kept locked away for many years and for many reasons. As friends draw Edward into a peculiar and addictive computer game, his obsession deepens as he discovers surprising parallels between the game's virtual reality and the mystery of the codex. An accomplished and entertaining thriller, Codex explores the mysterious power of books in the medieval and modern ages.


Baker & Taylor
An investment banker is sent by his firm to organize a collection of rare books for a mysterious client and realizes that there may be a medieval codex hidden among the volumes that parallels a computer game's addictive virtual reality world.

Harcourt Publishing
About to depart on his first vacation in years, Edward Wozny, a hot-shot young investment banker, is sent to help one of his firm's most important and mysterious clients. When asked to uncrate and organize a personal library of rare books, Edward's indignation turns to intrigue as he realizes that there may be a unique medieval codex hidden among the volumes, a treasure kept locked away for many years and for many reasons. As friends draw Edward into a peculiar and addictive computer game, his obsession deepens as he discovers surprising parallels between the game's virtual reality and the mystery of the codex. An accomplished and entertaining thriller, Codex explores the mysterious power of books in the medieval and modern ages.


Blackwell North Amer
About to depart on his first vacation in years, Edward Wozny, a hot-shot young banker, is sent to help one of his firm's most important and mysterious clients. When asked to uncrate and organize a personal library of rare books, Edward's indignation turns to curiosity as he realizes that among the volumes there may be hidden a unique medieval codex, a treasure kept sealed away for many years and for many reasons.
Enlisting the help of Margaret Napier, a passionate and brilliant medieval scholar, Edward discovers the strange history of the codex and the dark, intricate tale that lies within its pages. His fascination becomes an obsession that only deepens as friends draw him into a peculiar and addictive game with mystifying parallels between the game's virtual reality and the legend of the medieval codex.

Baker
& Taylor

An investment banker is sent by his firm to organize a collection of rare books for a mysterious, important client and realizes that there may be a medieval codex hidden among the volumes that surprisingly parallels a computer game's addictive virtual reality world. 50,000 first printing.

Authors: Grossman, Lev
Statement of Responsibility: Lev Grossman
Title: Codex
Publisher: Orlando : Harcourt, c2004
Characteristics: 348 p. ; 24 cm.
LCCN: 2003017163
ISBN: 0151010668
Branch Call Number: MYSTERY G
MARC Display»

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Mar 06, 2014
  • tocch101 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

The first part of the book is very good and addicting, while the climax isn't great. I seem to not really enjoy this style of ending from the author and it is very popular. Interesting ideas however.

Jun 25, 2013
  • LT rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

I stuck with this novel for several chapters, but found that the author had an unfortunate propensity for telling rather than showing. Although this issue improved as the book continued, I also realized that I did not want to be absorbed by the same virtual worlds being explored by the protagonist. I put the book down and walked out into a lovely summer's day.

Jul 19, 2012
  • RYStorteboom rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

It takes some time to warm up to the main characters and to root for them. It has some surprising twists and turns. It's a bit of a read-alike for The Da Vinci Code. This book has some more obscure references though and less bloodshed.

Jun 23, 2011
  • iRead26 rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

This book moves very slowly. At around page 187 it starts to get interesting. It's already a bit out of date in its references to technology. Doesn't compare to the author's other book, The Magicians, which I loved!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at NYPL

  Loading...

Buy It Now

Support your library, keep it forever!

View Purchase Options Learn more about this program

Your Cart

Hello! We noticed you have the following items in your cart right now:

If you'd still like to purchase the items you have in your cart, you can do that now.

You'll be able to purchase your eBook after you have checked out your current cart.

To continue with your eBook purchase immediately, you can clear your cart by clicking below.

All items will be removed from your cart.


I'd like to keep browsing! I'll decide later.

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings

No Subject Headings have been added to this title yet


  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.