Dear Library Patrons, The mission of NYPL is to inspire lifelong learning, advance knowledge, and strengthen our communities. Government support only pays for a portion of our work, so we rely on you to help - from stocking our shelves with amazing books, expanding our e-Book selection, classes, events, or even making free WiFi accessible to all. We are trying to raise $500,000 by December 31: an ambitious goal, but one that will fund incredible learning and reading in our community. Please consider donating to help keep our services free to all New Yorkers in 2015 >>

[]
[]

The Glass Castle

A Memoir

Walls, Jeannette

(Book - 2006)
Average Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.
The Glass Castle
Print
In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.
Publisher: New York : Scribner, 2006
Edition: 1st Scribner trade pbk. ed
ISBN: 9780743247542
074324754X
Branch Call Number: B Walls W
Characteristics: 288 p. ; 21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Dec 16, 2014
  • KindianaJones rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

The book was beautiful and balanced. Her upbringing wasn't simply impoverished or simply abusive; there was love and joy and poetry in her family life as well. Walls does a very good job of writing her story in a touching (not syrupy) way.

Nov 25, 2014
  • midnightreader27 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Such a good read! I recommend this book to absolutely everyone. I'm not one to ever reread a book but this I could read over and over again. Walls is an amazing story teller and her tales are incredible. Funny, adventurous, inspiring.

Nov 17, 2014
  • MADKC4Ever rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I was recommended to this book by my former English teacher, and I was so glad she told me about it, because I really did love it. I still don't know what to think about her parents, whether they were loving in their own weird and unconventional way, or truly abusive. Maybe a little bit of both. I think everybody would get something out of this book, and how truly blessed you are to live in such a great city and that you can succeed no matter what kind of life you've led in the past.

when is my turn will be???????????
i need it on 5th November
so please let me the due date of other users

Oct 27, 2014
  • readerpat rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

An unbelievable story. Four kids living in total poverty with two useless parents. It is hard to imagine how they made it through to adulthood,
Don't read this book if you are offended by bad language which is sprinkled all through the book.

Aug 20, 2014
  • kindrabirss rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I've just finished reading this book for the second time and again I read it in 2 days and loved it. While the writer's parents were completely unconventional, irresponsible, and neglectful she also describes them in a way that is so loving. They at times have an endearing quirkiness about them. I cannot believe what the author endured all her life with her parents but am amazed at how she could pull herself out and become successful. I wholeheartedly recommend this book.

Aug 09, 2014
  • ABenoit rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I loved it! You would not think you were reading a memoir at all. Awesome!

Jul 17, 2014
  • ellegibson rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I really enjoyed this book. I love how Walls told her story in a way that took, what could have been a dark story, and told it in a way that wasn't super sad and depressing. While we can look at the events of her life and feel sorry for her I think she helped the reader realize that it was just her own reality. It wasn't meant to be sad, I think it was just meant to be told. She wanted to put it out there to help people understand where she came from.

I have since watched interviews with Walls about this memoir and love her attitude towards life and to the reactions this book has had. She helped me understand that for her this was a normal childhood. Her mother and father were all she knew to be right..

One thing I liked was that the book starts off in a way where we know she has escaped a bad life and made it! So I think that sets the tone for the book throughout. No matter what hardship she endures we know that eventually she comes out on top.

Jul 09, 2014
  • teal_tiger_lilly rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

i enjoy this book so much it amazes me of how hard it is moving from one place to another every minute and living a life that is not perfect but they manage to take care of themselves and one another... the only part i found crazy was when jeanette was burned when she was cooking at the stove at age three.... and when she dropped out of the car and roled down a hill and no one noticed until her parents came back for her... ofr when she as well as lori, brian and there mother shopped lift in order for maureen to have somre decent clothes to were for school... or even when there was no food brian and jeanette was going dumpster diving for school and jeanette got raped by bill.. a bo y from her old town... and how he came to the house with a bb gun and how they aimed a pistle at him and almost shot him as he ran for his life
..... this bookj is good because it causes u to think about everything that people go through :)

Read this book when I was in grade 8 or 9. It never gets old :)

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

Nov 17, 2014
  • MADKC4Ever rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

MADKC4Ever thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Jul 17, 2014
  • ellegibson rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

ellegibson thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Aug 23, 2013
  • orange_squirrel_4 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

orange_squirrel_4 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Ninja_Kevin thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

May 06, 2011
  • Bonavista rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I loved that she went through so much as a child and teenager but still held the faith the whole time and came out of it. I think, a better person for it.

May 03, 2011
  • carlakacz rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This was a very intriguing book to read, a glimpse into someones life that is almost unbelievable.

Remarkable memoir of resilence and redemption and a revelatory look into a family at once deeply dysfunctional and uniquely vibrant. When sober, Jeanette's brillant and charismatic father catured his children's imagination, teaching them physics, geology and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishones and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea of domesticity and didn't want the responsibility of raising a family. The Walls children learned to take care of themselves. They fed, clothed and protected one another and eventually found their way to New York.Their parents followed them choosing to be homeless even as their children propsered.

Quotes

Add a Quote

Nov 17, 2014
  • MADKC4Ever rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

"I'm not upset because I'll miss you," Mom said. "I'm upset because you get to go to New York and I'm stuck here. It's not fair."

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Find it at NYPL

  Loading...

Other Formats

Buy It Now

Support your library, keep it forever!

View Purchase Options Learn more about this program

Your Cart

Hello! We noticed you have the following items in your cart right now:

If you'd still like to purchase the items you have in your cart, you can do that now.

You'll be able to purchase your eBook after you have checked out your current cart.

The Glass Castle
Walls, Jeannette
The Glass Castle

To continue with your eBook purchase immediately, you can clear your cart by clicking below.

All items will be removed from your cart.


I'd like to keep browsing! I'll decide later.

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings


Recommendations

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app02 Version gurli Last updated 2014/12/09 10:52