Dear Library Patrons, The mission of NYPL is to inspire lifelong learning, advance knowledge, and strengthen our communities. Government support only pays for a portion of our work, so we rely on you to help - from stocking our shelves with amazing books, expanding our e-Book selection, classes, events, or even making free WiFi accessible to all. We are trying to raise $500,000 by December 31: an ambitious goal, but one that will fund incredible learning and reading in our community. Please consider donating to help keep our services free to all New Yorkers in 2015 >>

[]
[]

How to Be Good

Hornby, Nick

(Paperback - 2001)
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
How to Be Good
Print
Penguin Putnam

Katie Carr is a good person. She recycles. She's against racism. She's a good doctor, a good mom, a good wife...well, maybe not that last one, considering she's having an affair and has just requested a divorce via cell phone. But who could blame her? For years her husband's been selfish, sarcastic, and underemployed, writing the "Angriest Man in Holloway" column for their local paper.

But now David's changed. He's become a good person, too—really good. He's found a spiritual leader. He has become kind, soft-spoken, and earnest. He's even got a homeless kid set up in the spare room. Katie isn't sure if this is a deeply-felt conversion, a brain tumor—or David's most brilliantly vicious manipulation yet. Because she's finding it more and more difficult to live with David—and with herself.



Baker & Taylor
Katie, a liberal, urban mother and doctor from North London, finds her life turned upside down when her husband, David, undergoes an outrageous spiritual transformation, in a hilarious novel about marriage, parenthood, religion, and morality. By the author of High Fidelity and About a Boy. Reprint.

Baker
& Taylor

Katie, a liberal, urban mother and doctor from North London, finds her life turned upside-down when her husband, David, undergoes an outrageous spiritual transformation.

Publisher: New York : Riverhead Books, c2001
ISBN: 1573229326
1573221937
Branch Call Number: FIC H
Characteristics: 305 p. ; 21 cm.

Opinion

From Library Staff

A witty, profound novel about marriage, parenthood and middle-age angst.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Mar 02, 2014
  • CPL_Laura rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

How does one go about being a good person? Nick Hornby hilariously addresses that question when David, a formerly cynical newspaper columnist morphs into an excessively altruistic do-gooder, whose new lifestyle alienates his wife and daughter. Narrated by the wife, who likes to think that since she's a doctor, she's a good person, How to Be Good starts off a bit slow, but really takes off when DJ GoodNews enters the picture. A self-professed healer, GoodNews appears to remove David's back pain, and then convinces him to transform his life. David's children are angry when he tells them to give away some of their toys, and his wife is appalled when he wants to open their home to the homeless. Can a marriage survive such goodness? Or will David totally alienate everyone his life, as DJ Goodnews has already done in his own? How to Be Good is amusing and also addresses serious questions. (Just be patient with the first 50 pages or so, as it doesn’t really hit its stride until DJ GoodNews shows up.) A great book discussion title. Read-Alike: Hornby's American counterpart is Tom Perrotta.

Jan 15, 2014
  • Terre9 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

For me it this book can best be summed up with this quote:
"I just seemed to run out of steam somewhere along the line. I ended up disappointed with my work, and my marriage, and myself, and I turned into someone who didn't know what to hope for." If that speaks to you go ahead and pick up this book.

Dec 17, 2012
  • jdb1983 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Considering the content, a family drama, this book is a surprising page turner. I wound up finishing the final 100 pages, at the expense of other responsibilities, on my day off, just to see how it would end.

from Oprah magazine suggestion

Jul 16, 2012
  • vwruleschick rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

A story about what happens to a 40-something lady in England when she perhaps is having a mid-life crisis, she is wrecking her marriage with an affair, not raising your kids properly, finding religion and all the while trying to be good. Follow her journey through mid-life and see where her decisions take her and how it affects her and her family members and what she learns about them and herself.

Nov 14, 2010
  • cjr2010 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

One of my faves...
Love Nick Hornby. :)

Nov 15, 2009
  • BobLeDrew rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Great novel by one of my favorite writers. A little unrealistic at times, but that engaging Hornby voice is there and there's some thinking in here about deep questions.

Quotes

Add a Quote

Jan 12, 2014
  • Terre9 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

So there we have it. I get up in the morning determined to do something approximating to the right thing, and with in two hours find something to feel guilty about.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Find it at NYPL

  Loading...

Other Formats

Buy It Now

Support your library, keep it forever!

View Purchase Options Learn more about this program

Your Cart

Hello! We noticed you have the following items in your cart right now:

If you'd still like to purchase the items you have in your cart, you can do that now.

You'll be able to purchase your eBook after you have checked out your current cart.

How to Be Good
Hornby, Nick
How to Be Good

To continue with your eBook purchase immediately, you can clear your cart by clicking below.

All items will be removed from your cart.


I'd like to keep browsing! I'll decide later.

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings


Recommendations

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app07 Version gurli Last updated 2014/12/09 10:52